Delicious Traveling Snacks

I am so excited, because…

image

Before I start to study this fall, I got the chance to travel some more and I’m bouncing off the walls when I think about it.

At the moment I’m staying in Sweden at my boyfriends apartment and in a couple of days we’ll head off to Prague for a little sightseeing trip. Pretty soon after that we’ll fly to the United States (wooopwoooop Whole Foods! 🙂 )  to visit family members who just moved there a couple of weeks ago.

That means there will be a lot of time spent at airports and on planes, which are not always the most vegetarian/vegan friendly places (especially when you don’t want to spend lots of money). Therefore I have been checking out some snack recipes which can easily be prepared in advance and will keep you fueled during your trip.

Here is a selection of my favorites, including an inspiring vlog by Niomi Smart:

Absolutely love the idea of bringing roasted spicy chickpeas with me, because they are super delicious and easy to store. I followed Niomi’s recipe from the video above and they turned out perfectly:

Mix one can of chickpeas with 1 tablespoon of coconut oil, 1/2 a teaspoon of smoked paprika and 1/4 teaspoon of chili powder. Sprinkle the mix with a little salt and some pepper. Spread the chickpeas in an even layer on a baking tray and bake at 200 degrees for about 30 minutes. Check on them around every ten minutes and turn them, so they bake evenly. Let them cool a little and enjoy!

They taste a little like popcorn with a hint of chili in my opinion.

IMG_8098

Another easy snack option: Whole fruits like bananas, apples or grapes with something crunchy on the side (for example cluster granola, oatmeal cookies or dry roasted nuts).

Apples and almonds

For a more substantial meal I like to take roasted sweet potato wedges and massaged kale salad with me. You can easily prepare them in advance and in my opinion the salad tastes better the longer it has been marinating in the dressing.

I use to cut the potatos in quarters, brush them with olive oil and sprinkle them with cinnamon, paprika and chili powder. Then I bake them for about 20 – 25 minutes at 200 degrees (depending on the size of the wedges). The recipe for the tahini dressing for the kale salad is from Deliciously Ella, you can find it here. If you like to add a little crunch to your salads, you can crumble roasted pecan nuts on top. Sometimes I also add some apple slices or dried cranberries.

IMG_5208

Of course one of the most important things to keep in mind while traveling is to stay hydrated. I always keep a water bottle with me, which I empty before the security check and simply refill again after. Sometimes there are drinking water fountains, but if I can’t find one, I use to refill the bottle inside a bathroom (as long as I know the water quality is fine). Doing that has saved me many times from having to buy an overpriced bottle inside the airport.

And because I have a huge sweet tooth I usually bring some kind of dessert with me as well. For example a bar of dark chocolate or (if I have time to prepare them in advance) chocolate peppermint date balls like these. Sooo delicious and highly addictive…

choc-peppermint-bliss-balls-1-of-1

What is your favorite snack to bring when you are going on an adventure? 🙂

Leave a Reply

