An Ode to Oatmeal

I love trying new dishes and experimenting in the kitchen, but when it comes to breakfast I eat a variation of the same dish almost every day. And so far I’ve never gotten bored with it.

IMG_6532 When I was a kid, oatmeal was only served when someone was sick and couldn’t eat “real breakfast”. It was prepared with oats, milk and a little sugar and not exactly my favorite thing to eat. Things have changed to say the least 🙂

IMG_3259

When I started to read KERF a couple of years ago, I stumbled upon her amazing oatmeal creations and ever since I’ve been hooked. Now I start almost every day with a warm bowl of oats topped with berries, nut butter and various crunchy mix-ins like homemade granola or chia seeds.

IMG_2878

I don’t have an exact recipe, it’s more of an eyeballing-process, but this comes pretty close:

1 very ripe banana

About 1 dl rice milk or any nut/soy milk of your choice

2 dl (around 0.8 cup) of shredded oats

About 1 dl warm water

Toppings: Frozen berries, fresh or dried fruit, granola, roasted nuts, chia seeds, shredded coconut, any nut or seed butter (I love peanut butter and a mix of almond, hazelnut and cashew butter)

I use to put the banana in my breakfast bowl and mash it with a fork. Then I put the oats, water and rice milk in a small sauce pan and let them simmer, while I keep stirring for about 3-5 minutes. As soon as the oats have absorbed most of the liquid, I add the mashed banana and about a handful of frozen berries (raspberries are scrumptious in this). I let it all warm up for a couple of minutes and then put it back in my bowl, adding some more fruits and granola on top.

This delicious breakfast will keep your energy levels up and at the same time provide you with lots of fibre and nutrients.

IMG_2586

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

